BYWAYS: Three Ways

Byways Entries

Pointing to the map, Uncle Vanek said, “North through the forests and mountains. South through rolling hills and rocky coves. Or the central route across the plains and desert. Which path will you choose?”

—excerpted from Byways, Book #1, On Your Marks: The Adventure Begins

05 Map

FAQ. When it comes to Frequently Asked Questions, the one I’m asked the most lately is … “Three books? Why are you releasing three?”

  1. Kids are voracious readers, especially when it comes to a series. Books in batches means more to read!
  2. I have a lot of ground to cover. Fifty states means fifty books! Even if I zip through this series in triplicate, the whole story will take the better part of a decade to tell!
  3. You can play favorites. Want to read all of Zane’s books because wolves are cool? The stories in the Byways series can be read in and out of order, so why not?

The main reason is simple enough. There are three books because there are three brothers. Ewan, Zane, and Ganix have to cover roughly the same distance, but they’re racing along three separate routes. And twice a year, you’ll be able to check their progress.

When you run across the Byways books in stores or at the library, there’s an easy way to tell which brother’s book you’ve discovered. Details win my heart, and my illustrator Hannah Christenson was happy to incorporate one right into the series logo. Did you notice the subtle difference between Books 2-4?

Three Headers

Ewan can take the form of an elk.
Zane shape-shifts into a wolf.
Ganix can Change into a raccoon.

But it will take more than magical bloodlines to win this race.

In just five days (10/20), all three titles will be ready for readers!
You can pre-order on Amazon >>
Byways, 2, 3, 4


Byways, Book #1: On Your Marks
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

01 On Your Marks 600Taking sibling rivalry to brand new lengths…

Series Summary: Ian Johns is the founder of the postal system in the land of Liberty. Twice widowed, he has three sons, all half-brothers, and the boys don’t get along. In order to help them bond, Ian plans a tour of the country in the hopes that travel will bring them closer together. But somehow, the plan is twisted around, and the trip becomes a race.

Age Range: These books are geared for young readers who are ready for their very first chapter books (K-2).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.